Lynnwood DUI Lawyer
Work With A Top-Rated Defense Attorney
Have you been pulled over and arrested for DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs) because a police officer said you failed field sobriety or chemical test? You may be in danger of facing criminal charges and a conviction for a criminal offense that may result in:
- License suspension
- Other serious penalties.
It is important to involve a defense attorney who can help you avoid these consequences. I have handled over 20,000 criminal cases and I am ready to put my experience to work for you at your DOL hearing and in court.
What issue are you experiencing?
If you are interested in learning more about the services that our firm provides, please feel free to review the areas of practice we have listed below. You can also find information about challenging DUI charges, such as cross-examining the officer who made your arrest or challenging the breath test, and can get helpful information about field sobriety tests and other issues relevant to these charges. Just click on any of the links listed below and you will be directed to a page about that subject:
How do the police determine a charge of DUI?
In Washington an individual can be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol content is 0.08% or higher for an adult or 0.02% or higher if you are under the age of 21. You can also be charged with DUI if you refuse the breath test or if the officer believes that you are under the influence of alcohol regardless of whether your breath test is under a 0.08.
Can I refuse to take the blood or breath test?
In Washington State, when you obtain your drivers' license you give your consent to take these tests. It is called the Implied Consent Law. You have the right to refuse, but your refusal may be used in a trial and your license will be suspended by the Department of Licensing. You can request a hearing with the Department of Licensing to contest this suspension.
If my license has been suspended how long before I can get it back?
There are two possible suspensions associated with a DUI case. The DOL will suspend your license administratively after receiving notice of your DUI arrest. The DOL will also suspend your license after receiving notice of a DUI
conviction. The suspension can last anywhere from 90 days to several years depending on your blood alcohol level or refusal and any prior DUI history. During the period of your suspension you may be able to continue driving with an ignition interlock license. Your attorney can discuss your specific situation with you.
What are some of the penalties of a DUI?
The charge of driving under the influence is called a "gross misdemeanor" and is punishable up to 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine plus other costs and assessments. DUI charges have mandatory minimum sentences and license suspensions that depend on your prior history and your breath test or refusal. The court can also order you to complete an alcohol evaluation and order you to complete any recommended treatment.
Does my employer have to know?
Legally you do not have to inform your employer. However, if the company you work for has a contract requiring this as part of your employment it could be mandatory. One other factor would be if you drive a company car in your day to day business, notification might again need to be given.
Get Your Free Consultation Today!
It can be difficult to know what to do in the face of serious DUI charges, but with proper legal representation you can rest assured that your rights will be well-protected. Need a lawyer for your DUI case in Lynnwood, WA? Call my office today to learn more about DUI charges and proper defense strategies. To get started in receiving the help and guidance you need, contact a Lynnwood DUI attorney today.