Avoid a Snohomish County Unlawful Possession of Fireworks Charge this Fourth of July

By Lance Fryrear

With the Fourth of July fast approaching, it pays to be aware of the fireworks laws in your area. While the Snohomish County Fire District 1 commissioners are pushing for a countywide ban of all private fireworks sales and use next year, some cities in Snohomish County already have fireworks bans in place. For example, Edmonds (EMC 5.27.020), Everett (EMC 16.60.090), Mill Creek (MCMC 5.12.100), and Mountlake Terrace (MTMC 9.70.020) all have fireworks bans. Other cities, like Lynnwood, allow limited use of private fireworks. You can find a comprehensive list by county on the State Fire Marshal website.

Even if you live in an area that allows fireworks, you need to be aware of the restrictions on use. For example, in Lynnwood, you can only discharge your fireworks between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. on July 4th (LMC 9.12.130). A violation of this local law is a misdemeanor offense (LMC 9.12.150) meaning you could face up to 90 days in jail and a $1000 fine if convicted.

There are also statewide restrictions on the use of fireworks. For example, if you are accused of using fireworks in a reckless manner that creates a risk of serious physical injury or property damage you could be facing a gross misdemeanor unlawful discharge or use of fireworks charge (RCW 70.77.488). This means you could be facing up to 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine if convicted. Additionally, if you are found to be in possession of illegal fireworks, you could be charged with a misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor depending on the amount possessed.

So, when planning for your fun and safe Fourth of July celebration, remember to keep the regulations in mind. If you find yourself facing illegal fireworks charges in Lynnwood, or elsewhere in Snohomish County, Washington, it is important to speak with an experienced unlawful fireworks defense attorney as soon as possible. I have over a decade of experience defending unlawful fireworks charges. Put my experience to work for you by calling the Law Offices of Lance Fryrear for your free consultation today.

Related Posts
  • Driving While License Suspended in Washington State Read More
  • Domestic Violence Assault in the 4th Degree in Washington State Read More
  • What Are Disorderly Conduct Crimes? Read More