What is Assault and Battery?

Assault and battery is a term that you often hear in other states or the movies on TV. In Washington state, we don't call it assault and battery, it's just called assault. Assault in Washington state is basically any unwanted touching of another person. Assault can be slapping someone in the face, pushing someone or believe it or not throwing water on someone's face like you might see in the movies. That's assault. If you do any of those things you're accused of that, most of the time it's a gross misdemeanor charge. There's a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you or someone you know was charged with assault or assault and battery, please give the Law Offices of Lance Fryrear a call, and we will provide you the best possible legal defense.